Arrow of Light

As with all Cub Scout ranks, you must first earn the Bobcat Badge to be eligible to work for this award.


Welcome to Webelos 2/Arrow of Light Den

Webelos Handbook CoverFifth Grade
       or 11-12 Yrs
Den Leader
Joe Wheeler

Our Goals  Webelos is a 20 month program for 4th and 5th grade boys to prepare to join a Boy Scout troop while learning outdoor skills and participating in 20 different activity badges. A well-run group of Webelos is a gradual change from being an ‘adult-run’ den to being a ‘boy-run’ patrol ready to fit right into an adventurous scouting troop.

Summary The Webelos program has two major milestones – the Webelos rank badge to be earned at the 4th grade level and the Arrow of Light to be earned at the 5th grade. The final part of Webelos is bridging over into  Boy Scout Troop 351.

Arrow of Light Badge Requirements

Requirements were REVISED effective December 1, 2016.

New text is in bold GREEN underlined Serif text like this sentence.
Deleted portions are struck through RED italic text like this sentence.

NOTE:  The “Camper” Adventure has been renamed the “Outdoorsman” Adventure.

  1. Be active in your Webelos den for at least six months since completing the fourth grade or for at least six months since becoming 10 years old. (Being active means having good attendance, paying your den dues, and working on den projects.)
  2. Complete each of the following Arrow of Light required Adventures with your den or family:
    • Building a Better World
    • Camper Outdoorsman
    • Duty to God in Action
    • Scouting Adventure
  3. Complete at least one three Webelos elective Adventure adventures of your den or family’s choosing.
  4. With your parent, or guardian, or other caring adult, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide, and earn the Cyber Chip award for your age.*

*If your family does not have Internet access at home AND you do not have ready Internet access at school or another public place or via a mobile device, the Cyber Chip portion of this requirement may be waived by your parent or guardian.

For those Scouts who earned the Webelos Badge before June 1, 2015, there were two options for earning the Arrow of Light:

  • Option 1:
    They could continue to work out of the previous handbook and complete the Arrow of Light requirements as stated.
    See the requirements here.
    Either activity pins or adventure pins may be used to satisfy elective requirements.
  • Option 2:
    They may begin using the new Webelos Handbook and the Webelos Den Leader Guide for the Arrow of Light adventures.
    They must complete the four defined required adventures, and to satisfy the requirement for three electives they have two choices:

    • Utilize EITHER the new adventure electives 
    • Utilize activity badges earned under the previous program but which were not used to fulfill the Webelos rank requirements.
      See the various activity badge requirements here.

Is your Fifth Grader thinking about Scouts?

Then you probably have some questions…


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s